Crochet on the Internet

Tension Magazine has just launched the start of their latest issue and looking at their absolutely lovely site has made me stop and think about where I spend my time looking at crochet on the Internet.  And so, for your perusal, a short list:

Craftster:  I don’t post here nearly as much as I should (the same could be said for this blog (ba-zing)).  What I enjoy about Craftster as a site is its inclusion of all crafts.  I’m usually there for the crochet boards, which are usually a nice illustration into the variety of things one can do with crochet, but I’ve also posted on the clothing boards with my Mod Podge shoes, and I’ve spent a lot of time simply milling around and looking at crafts I’ve either never attempted (jewelry making) or attempted and failed repeatedly (knitting).  I like seeing that much creativity housed in one place, and the all-inclusive feel of the place makes it fun to surf.

Ravelry:  Home to any knitters or crocheters who want to keep track of their projects and stash, Ravelry has been hugely useful to me in the last couple of years.  While I don’t use the stash function (you can log all the yarn you have, and how much, and where you bought it), I can appreciate the advantage of having the chance to track your yarn usage.  My use of Ravelry comes down to being able to see my completed projects in one easy place.  I’ve had more than one occasion where I couldn’t remember if I’d completed a project, or started and frogged it, or perhaps only sketched out the basic idea.  Ravelry lets me log in, look at my own pictures, and be certain of what I’ve finished.  There’s also a major community aspect on the site with groups to join, but I can’t speak to them, as I’ve never jumped in that particular sandbox.

Tension Magazine:  Yes, I mentioned it above, but I want to give it a proper explanation as I have the other sites.  Tension Magazine is what CrochetMe planned to be back when CrochetMe put out patterns like this gorgeous sweater vest and before the whole thing devolved into a series of amigurumi and scarves that I’d seen everywhere else on the internet.  Tension offers interesting patterns and editorials, and I want it to stick around for a very long time because I think it can really and truly be the crocheters’ answer to Knitty, and I’ve been waiting for that for years.

Leave a Reply

