Problems with Pattern Writing: Stitch Counts Make Things Wonky

I’m still working on the pattern for the arm warmers I showed off last week, and I’ve found myself in a pickle. The stitch pattern I used for the original arm warmers is very useful for stitch counts that are multiples of ten. I’ve made a very simple adjustment to make a stitch pattern that will work with any odd-number. The issue, however, is in finding a stitch pattern that will work with any even number. I don’t want to have open stitches on either side of the seam, and that means I can’t end on an open stitch.

The pattern is, overall, entirely adjustable once you get the cuff done, and I can just add a line in the pattern that says you must end on an odd-numbered round or a round that is a multiple of ten, but that seems cheating, somehow.

2 responses to “Problems with Pattern Writing: Stitch Counts Make Things Wonky

  1. It isn’t really; I’ve seen several patterns that have places where you have to stop. I know that more than a few books I’ve got also have either places you have to stop, or specific instructions for the ‘weird’ places.

    • gaylefrancisdesigns

      I ended up doing exactly that when I finished the pattern. I don’t quite recall why I was reluctant to make a note like that, but looking back it was probably because I hadn’t written a pattern where it was necessary.

Leave a Reply

